On this day

“I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past.”
Thomas Jefferson

On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was adopted by the Second Continental Congress. The statement proclaimed the independence of the 13 American colonies from Great Britain. A new nation was born named the United States of America. Contrary to popular belief, Thomas Jefferson was not the only author of the statement. The Declaration of Independence was created by a committee including Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Robert Livingston, and Roger Sherman.

Find more interesting stories in our new issue.
Click on www.myhistorydigest.com

ca. 1786-1819 ---  by


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s